Creased Softboot = Ankle Pain

Tips and advice on both skating gear and technique

Moderator: Traffic warden

Sjijntje
Skate Patrol
Skate Patrol

Creased Softboot = Ankle Pain

Postby Sjijntje » Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:30 pm

I have a pair of K2 Power 80mm softboots that I have been using contentedly for several years and several thousand miles. Recently I have been getting a lot of pain intermittently just under my right ankle, and I worked out eventually, that as the boot flexes at the ankle, the softboot/liner bit creases, and is causing pressure against my foot. Feeling it, it seems like the foam feels a bit old and crumply in this area. When I skate with a more rigid ankle, I don't experience the pain.

Do you think it might be possible to do some sort of patchwork? Either pad it with a few layers of duck tape to strengthen it or maybe cut a big hole in it where it flexes. Or mabe just buy a new pair.

Should I be skating with a rigid ankle? The boots are obviously designed to flex a bit, so presumably this is ok. I have got a lot stronger and faster in the last couple of years, and am presumably pushing off much more firmly than in the past, which is probably why the problem has arisen now, if it is not simply the material decaing

Sjijntje
Skate Patrol
Skate Patrol

Re: Creased Softboot = Ankle Pain

Postby Sjijntje » Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:54 am

I've just realised something. I always used to thread my laces through all the loops, but I realised a few weeks ago, that the standard way seems to be to treat the last two loops as if they were a single unit and thread them together, so I thought I should try that, and that's the boot that has been hurting me. I guess I better revert to my old system, and see if that helps. It's a bit chilly and slippy looking outside, so it may be a while befor I get the chance.