Brief review of KSJs vs EVOs

Tips and advice on both skating gear and technique

Moderator: Traffic warden

Shaw
Power slider
Power slider

Brief review of KSJs vs EVOs

Postby Shaw » Sat Sep 21, 2013 7:52 pm

A friend and I decided to go buy new skates a week ago. I've been wearing the same pair of size 41 seba highs for nearly five years now, and the inside of the liner on the right foot finally broke such that I'd have blisters from wearing them. I patched it up with a bit of duct tape, but haven't skated in them much since, especially now that I have a new pair of KSJs. My friend has been wearing a pair of freewaves for a while now, and wanted new skates as well.

Sizing:
At the store I tried on a pair of size 39 2012 KSJs (they didn't have the 2013 model in stock), and a pair of size 40 2013 EVOs. I don't have overly wide feet, but the EVOs still felt extremely narrow, and the length wasn't too long so I didn't want to go a size up either. The KSJs were surprisingly comfortable despite being two sizes smaller than my seba highs which definitely were not comfortable at first, so I bought those instead.

My friend tried on size 37 and 38 EVOs, both of which felt fine, and after deliberating for a bit over sizes/colors, ended up buying size 37 EVOs. The tongue of the EVOs bites down on your feet pretty hard at first, but this is mostly fixed simply by putting shoelaces in.

Heat moulding the EVOs:
After skating for a bit on the EVOs, and talking with another skater who owns them, my friend decided to heat mould her new skates as well. Skate ovens are fairly rare in China, but some skaters have found another way to heat up their skates: boiling them.